1. Join the Camping Babble forums today and become an active member of our growing community. Once registered you'll be able to exchange camping photos, stories and experience with other members. If you're still undecided, feel free to take a look around and see what we're all about!

From an AMATEUR to a PRO

Discussion in 'Other Camping' started by Northern Dancer, Oct 11, 2016.

1. Northern Dancer

Northern Dancer Survivalist

Camping is meant to be fun, right?
    I remember a time when is wasn't fun - not at all. But I persevered until I could boast that I was a pro. When I say pro I'm not suggesting perfection or having all the skills that I need -there is something new to learn everyday. BUT, I have learned a lot.

upload_2016-10-11_21-41-32.png

Here are some of the things that I did as an AMATEUR

I DIDN'T DO ANY RESEARCH INTO ANYTHING
    I didn't think about equipment that I might need, where I was going, what I might expect or even consider the weather. I loaded what I had into the car an off I went. Now that is real dumb adventure folks.

I DIDN'T TRY ANY OF THE EQUIPMENT BEFORE LEAVING HOME

It never occurred to me that my tent may leak, there were not enough guy lines; and what was that funny thing that looks a bit like an umbrella? What was that for? Oh...ya...the stove - it was brand new and damaged.

I RELIED ON A CAMPFIRE
    How did I know that there was a fire ban? No one told me that it rained for three days before I got to the camp site. What do you mean I can't bring wood into the park?

CHEAP GOODS INSTEAD OF QUALITY
    If it came from "Ally's" it had to be good stuff right? Wrong! You get what you pay for in the camping industry. Notice how the camp supply people stay away from the everyday stores? That's because they are everyday.

BUYING A LOT OF STUFF